Mother and Child – Two Different Worlds

A photo in our local paper showed a mother and child watching the horror being committed Saturday in a rigged house at a nearby Halloween Carnival. It looked like something out of the television series, Criminal Minds – or any of the bone-chilling movies at the multiplexes. It was not something I expected to see when I opened our Sunday paper.

Over this weekend a television host was talking about “this Halloween season.” It seems that what used to be a one night event for children has morphed, and been declared a holiday only second to Christmas. What is going on here? Adults party for three days, costume sales for adults, along with alcoholic beverages are a huge bonus. All the while, parents are warned about pot-laced candy and razor blades in apples.

While blood and gore are apparently condoned, as they bring in revenue to the community, there is another scene which seems to be out of favor. A scene which has dissolved into the money pit of the first most popular holiday season, which for some, is still called Christmas.

This is a scene of a mother and child which is very different. It is one of wonder, love and tenderness. It is also one where a father is present, supporting his wife and newborn. There was no monster mash to celebrate the birth, but there were voices of jubilation filling the heavens.

You may disagree, you may not. But the truth is, you cannot take a pagan holiday which originated to worship the devil and fundamentally change it into a ‘feel good’ harmless holiday without repercussions.

8 comments on “Mother and Child – Two Different Worlds

  1. You are so right TB. Halloween used to be more of an innocent holiday that was full of childish gouls and goblins. I agree that is way out of control any more. I was happy that in the community I live in that it was designated for Saturday night only from 5 until 7 pm. They actually had several rules attached to it. There are hardly no “Neighborhoods” around here because it is so country and spread out so most of the trick or treating was done in parking lots of big stores and sponsored by local church groups. I didn’t take either of kids out for it. They are 11 and 14 and I think if it is done at all, it’s really meant for the very young children.

  2. The young boy with the chain saw in the photo looks like 10 or so of age. What are people thinking when they allow their children to participate in something so evil?

  3. Just so you know, Trailblazer, I am a Pagan / Wiccan and we do not believe in the devil. We do not believe in evil, and we are 100 percent peaceful. The reason Pagans got such a bad rap is because male doctors in the 1800s were competing with herbalists, who handed down family recipes. These recipes were often kept between families (hidden – otherwise known as, “occult”), and it was considered a “craft of the wise”, or “Wicca”.

    My family were poor farmers from Slovakia, and living off the land is where Paganism comes from.

  4. ____________________________________________________________

    Over 25 year ago I was considered a White Witch with all that went with it. My friends and colleagues were psychics, palm readers, astrologers etc. And one who practiced Voodoo. I held seances and classes in home, which some thought to be haunted. I put on events in the community, the psychic and I even had an office in the Chamber of Commerce building – we sold oils, candles, readings and those who came through those doors at night were pillars of the community.

    My so-called powers led me to be a trusted informant with certain law enforcement agencies. I also traveled in political circles, movers and shakers.

    All this led me down a path of disaster, forced me to leave the area – broke and frightened. My very life was in danger.

    If you want to know more . . . let me know and I’ll reply.
    ___________________________________________________________

    FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO KNOW:
    Wicca is a tradition of Witchcraft that was brought to the public by Gerald Gardner in the 1950s. There is a great deal of debate among the Pagan community about whether or not Wicca is truly the same form of Witchcraft that the ancients practiced. Regardless, many people use the terms Wicca and Witchcraft interchangeably. Paganism is an umbrella term used to apply to a number of different earth-based faiths. Wicca falls under that heading, although not all Pagans are Wiccan.

    The term “pagan” (derived from the Latin paganus, which translates roughly to “hick from the sticks”) was originally used to describe people who lived in rural areas. As time progressed and Christianity spread, those same country folk were often the last holdouts clinging to their old religions. Thus, “pagan” came to mean people who didn’t worship the god of Abraham.

    So, in a nutshell, here’s what’s going on. All Wiccans are witches, but not all witches are Wiccans. All Wiccans are Pagans, but not all Pagans are Wiccans. Finally, some witches are Pagans, but some are not.

  5. Sorry for my delayed response – I was out of town. 🙂

    I think it’s very generous of you to offer a personal experience. I would be interested in hearing about it.

    Just as an aside, though, the branches of Wicca / Paganism have been around since before Christianity and are spread all over the world. I don’t know how one bad experience can prove anything. The pedophile priests cast a bad light on their religion, but I do not choose to judge my Christian friends on that type of thing.

    Are there bad / criminal Wiccans? I’m sure there are. However I’m more of a realist and I think that humans are responsible for their actions, not some outside force. Hopefully we’re all working so that our respective religions do only good in the world.

    And by the way, I agree with you about the goriness of Halloween. When I was little I felt like I couldn’t trust adults who played such grim pranks on us.

  6. This piece was published in yesterday’s daily paper – North County Times – along with so many of a political bent. No comments on mine, but lots on the elections.
    Just had some surgery – will continue the saga.

I Love it When you Talk Back!

